David Brider (davidbrider) wrote,
David Brider
davidbrider

Meme-age

Gacked from gs_disaronno

The New and Improved Ultimate About Me

Basics:

Name: David
Date of Birth: 18th December 1969
Birthplace: Ilford, Essex
Current Location: Milton Keynes (work), but living in Hemel Hempstead
Eye Color: blue/grey
Hair Color: Natural: Mousy brown
Height: 6' 0"
Heritage: As far as I can tell, English back through several generations.
Piercings: None
Tattoos: None

Favourite:

Band/Singer: Pet Shop Boys
Song: Always on my Mind by Pet Shop Boys.
Movie: The Back to the Future trilogy.
Disney Movie: Don't really have any particular ones, but I've always been fond of 101 Dalmations - the original animated one.
TV show: Doctor Who is my all-time favourite.
Colorr: As a child, my favourite colour was red. These days, I don't really have one.
Food: My home-made fish soup - cod, kipper, mackerel, with diced potatoes and peas, in a cheese sauce enhanced with wholegrain mustard. Haven't had that in ages. Might have it next time I get paid.
Pizza topping: Basic cheese and tomato for me.
Ice-Cream Flavor: When I can get it (which is all too rarely), lemon.
Drink (alcoholic): I don't drink alcohol.
Soda: Fanta (orange), although Ribena has started doing a sparkling variety which unlike their previous attempts is actually good.
Store: Waterstone's, HMV, WH Smith's (despite it not being as good as it used to be), CeX. I miss Borders...
Clothing Brand: None, really. Although my mum buys a lot of clothes for me and has recently started buying a range called Mantaray - nice shirts.
Shoe Brand: Again, none really. Whatever I can get that fits me.
Season: Speing.
Month: December, because it's got my birthday and Christmas.
Holiday/Festival: Nothing specific. Quite fond of Easter, I guess; Christmas too.
Flower: Again, nothing specific.
Make-Up Item: I don't wear make-up.
Board game: Monopoly. I must remember to try to get the Doctor Who version.

This or That

Sunny or rainy: Neither, really. I guess sunny as long as it's not too hot.
Chocolate or vanilla: For ice cream? Vanilla, but only because chocolate ice cream doesn't really taste quite right.
Fruit or veggie: I prefer fruit to vegetables. Or at least, there are more fruits that I like than vegetables.
Night or day: No real preference. I'm not much of a night person, so I guess day.
Sour or sweet: Sweet, easily.
Love or money: Depends on the context. If it's a relationship, I'd like it to be based on love. But if you're offering the money, I'll take it.
Phone or in person: I'm a bit 'phone phobic, so I'll take in person.
Looks or personality: Looks are an important issue, but personality is what really matters.
Coffee or tea: Tea, but I don't drink it often.
Hot or cold: Depends on what we're talking about. For a shower, gotta be hot. For weather, I prefer cold to heat, but I'm not particularly keen on extremes of either.

Your:

Goal for this year: Get organised.
Most missed memory: Many and varied. My time at university was a happy one.
Best physical feature: I think I've got a nice face.
First thought waking up: "Oh no, not another one.
Hypothetical personality disorder: Well, the depression, the low self-esteem, the vague anxiety issues, and the 'phone-phobia, are all real. I'm not sure I'd want a hypothetical one on top of them...
Preferred type of plastic surgery: I'm happy as I am. I'd like to lose weight, but the natural way, thanks.
Sesame Street alter ego: The Cookie Monster. He was in Sesame Street, right?
Fairytale alter ego: The handsome prince. In my dreams. More likely Shrek. But less green.
Most stupid remark: I'm not very good at social situations, and eventually I'll default to "how are you?" If you find me asking how you are a lot, that's why.
Worst crime: Mine? See my wardrobe for more details.
Greatest ambition: I have ideas for several novels. Before I die I'd like to get at least one of them written and published. If it just sells one copy, at least I'll have achieved something.
Greatest fear: Loneliness.
Darkest secret: Not sure I have any.
Favorite subject: Theology.
Strangest received gift: One of my aunts, in successive years, used to buy me handkerchiefs. As I've always used kitchen roll or toilet paper for nose-blowing/wiping, they went unused.
Worst habit: I'm a stubborn old mule. I don't regard that as necessarily a bad thing. YMMV.

Do You:

Smoke: No.
Drink: Not alcohol, no.
Curse: I try not to. I'm not prudish about most things, but swearing is one my few hang-ups.
Shower daily: Depends on how much time I've left between falling out of bed and needing to leave the house for work, but ideally, yes.
Like thunderstorms: I don't find them scary, but I'm not wild about them either. I particularly don't like the oppressive feel in the atmosphere when they're about to break. I also don't like the situation where I'm typing away at the computer and I can hear the lightning outside getting nearer and suddenly there's an almight FTOOOOMMM!! and everything in the house goes out because the lightning has struck the generator down the road. (This has happened to me once.)
Dance in the rain: Don't be silly, I'd get wet.
Sing: Yeah. I can carry a tune, and have recorded some songs I've written. I'm not, having said that, the world's greatest singer.
Play an instrument: Piano/keyboard/synth, guitar. I can also program a mean sequencer.
Get along with your parents: Yeah. My stepdad's an acquired taste, but yeah.
Wish on stars: No.
Believe in fate: Not normally, but sometimes.
Believe in love at first sight: I think it can happen.

Can You:

Drive: Well, I passed my test. What Sarah thinks is another matter.
Sew: I usually pass any sewing-related issues on to Sarah.
Cook: Yes.
Speak another language: Not really - learned French and Spanish at secondary school, and New Testament Greek at university, but I couldn't honestly say I "speak" them.
Dance: I can shuffle around vaguely rhythmically to music (depending on the music), but calling it "dancing" would be a bit of an overstatement.
Sing: See above.
Touch your nose with your tongue: I'm pretty sure I can't, and I'm not about to try.
Whistle: Yes.
Curl your tongue: Not really. My tongue is very unflexible.

Have You Ever:

Been Drunk: No.
Been Stoned/High: No.
Eaten Sushi: No.
Been in Love: Yes. Am at the moment.
Skipped school: Once or twice. Well, sixth form college. And the odd university lecture.
Made prank calls: I don't think so. Might have done in my early teens.
Sent someone a love letter: Yes.
Stolen something: I accidentally shoplifted a bag of crisps once. Ran straight back to the shop to apologise. I wouldn't make a very good thief, would I?
Cried yourself to sleep: Yes.

Other Questions:

What annoys you most in a person? Homophobia, racism, sexism, ageism.
Are you right or left handed? Righthanded.
What is your bedtime? I normally aim for about 10:00pm.
Name three things you can't live without: Sarah, my family, laughter.
What is the colour of your room? I can't actually remember. It's something fairly neutral - white, or light beige, I think.
Do you have any siblings? Three half sisters. Or 1½ sisters.
Do you have any pets? Nope. I'd like a cat, but Sarah's allergic to them. :o(
Would you kill someone you hate for a million dollars? I'd like to stick to my principles, but seriously, if someone gave me a gun and Nick Griffin was standing there in front of me and there would be no negative repercussions, it would be tempting...
What is your middle name? William John.
What are your nicknames? I don't really have any. Certainly, if you make the mistake of calling me "Dave" I will pull you up on that sharpish.
Are you for or against gay marriage? Very definitely for.
What are your thoughts on abortion? I think abortion is a regrettable thing, but I'm in favour of it being available legally and safely, and people having the ability to make an informed choice as to whether they will have an abortion.
Do you have a crush on anyone? Sarah. One or two other people as well.
Are you afraid of the dark? A bit, yes, but not in a major way.
How do you want to die? Peacefully in my sleep.
What is the largest amount of popsicles that you have eaten on one day? Is that like ice lollies? In that case, I don't know, probably a couple.
Would you take a bullet for the one you love? Yes.
What is the last law you’ve broken? Can't think of one.

In a Member of the Opposite Sex:

Hair color: Brown.
Eye color: Brown.
Height: Doesn't really matter.
Weight: Again, doesn't really matter.
Most important physical feature: Nice eyes.
Biggest turn-off: Homophobia, racism, or sexism are all big no-nos for me. Smoking too.

David.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic
  • 3 comments